Tuesday, 17 February 2015

Singkuwento International Film Festival - February 21 - 28 2015

 The organizers of the 2015 Singkuwento International Film Festival Manila Philippines (SIFFMP) has announced the finalists of its short film competition, which will be held from February 21 to 28.

“It's been a very challenging task to select the films for competition from an immensely talented pool of entrants. From the original plan of having 15 films for competition and 15 films for exhibition, we have decided to have all 30 in competition instead,” said filmmaker and producer Roberto Reyes Ang, head of SIFFMP board of judges.

The Singkuwento fest started in 2013 as a non-competition festival that showcased short films by a small group of filmmakers. This year, it will start its first competition that is open to the public. The finalists will battle for awards for Best Short Film, Best Cultural Short Film and Best Documentary Short Film, among others.

“In behalf of the board of judges and the staff of Singkuwento International, I congratulate the filmmakers whose works were selected,” added Ang. “I also send my sincerest thanks to all those who participated but whose films were not accommodated at this time. I hope that you all continue to produce and share your experiences and stories through film.”

Ang added: “To the members of the jury who put in their time and effort to give each and every film a thorough viewing, my most heartfelt thanks for your dedication. Through your efforts, Singkuwento International is able to reach its goal of providing an equitable channel for artistic expressions through film.”

Screenings will be at the Leandro Locsin Theater inside the National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA) Building, 63 Gen. Malvar Street, Intramuros, Manila. The winners will be announced during the awards ceremony on February 28, 8 p.m. also at the NCCA.

Filmmaker Will Fredo, also a jury member, said choosing the films had been “a difficult process given the enormous amount of quality short films submitted this year from the North to the South of the Philippines.”

Fredo said the variety was “overwhelming and it breaks my heart to select one from the other given all the submitted films have merits in their own right. I encourage all the young filmmakers to keep doing more films and let their voice be heard. You are in the right path.”

Here are the complete list of short films and their filmmakers:

1. “Abakada ni Nanay” by Joni Sarina Mejico
2. “Andre1a” by Emmanuel Sambayan
3. “Ang Mga Bulong sa Bituka ng Sta. Mesa” by Hector Barretto Calma
4. “Apasol” (Chasing Sun) by Ryanne Murcia
5. “Dag-um” (Dark Skies) by Chloe Veloso
6. “Deadline” by Igor Cruz
7. “Gulong” (Roll) by Anj Macalanda
8. “Hindi Pa Ako Tulog Jose Alberto” by Juan Patlang
9. “Imahe” by Kristofer Ted Navarro
10. “Int. Kotse. Gabi” by Epoy Deyto
11. “Justlanded” by Paolo Lat
12. “Kalaw” by Immy Belle Rempis
13. “Lisyun ng Geografia” (Geography Lessons) by Petersen Vargas
14. “Lupang Pangako” by Juan Carlo Torobal
15. “Mabuhay qng Pilipinas” by Bor Ocampo
16. “Mga Eroplanong Papel sa Tag-araw ng Paglimot” by Jaime Habac Jr.
17. “Mis Da Ka” byCarlo Catu
18. “My Revolutionary Mother” by Jethro Patalinghug
19. “Nakangising Bato” by Simon Vigan
20.”Pahiyom Alang Kang Evelyn” (A Smile for Evelyn) by Chloe Veloso
21. “Pusong Bato” by Martika Ramirez Escobar
22. “Qng Pangacupas Ning Matingcad Qng Cule” by Jerome Cunanan
23. “Raket” by Raymond Mamaril
24. “Sibol” by Mikee Dela Cruz
25. “Taguan” by Marvin Gabas
26. “The Ordinary Things We Do” by David Corpuz
27. “Towards the Skye Light” by Karl Justin Martin
28. “Tubigan” by Hiyas Baldemor Bagabaldo
29. “Viscera” by Herwin Benedictos Cabasal
30. “Yellow Lights” by Bea Velasco


The weeklong event is in cooperation with the NCCA and MPJ Entertainment Productions. For tickets, visit ticketworld.com.ph

No comments:

Post a Comment